radhikasreflection

Everyday musings ….Life as I see it…….my space, my reflections and thoughts !!

You give me creeps!!

Aaaaaaah !! Hearing my loud scream my host rushed to find out what the matter was? We had gone over to a friend’s place for dinner. There, I spied on a sinister looking Mr. Cockroach in the kitchen. That scream, was my response on coming face to face with it 😦

download

Pinterest.com

.

My fear of the creepies-n-crawlies dates back to the time when I was a kid. I hated singing rhymes like Incy wincy spider or Little Miss Muffet and would often wonder the reason behind learning rhymes on such dreadful creatures. Those weird creatures always managed to exasperate me. Spying on one, I would yell out to Mom, my messiah, my saviour 🙂

I have vivid memories of our annual visit to our grandparent’s house at Udupi. It was a huge old house with a big garden, cowshed and a well. Oh! What fun we city bred cousins used to have there. Playing around in the huge mango/jackfruit orchard, watching the ladies milk the cow, trying our hand at drawing water from the well and miserably failing! We used to enjoy the time spent there with the only grouse being, there were lots of creepy insects, bugs and roaches and many of them flying ones too. We (my sister and I) would always be on tenterhooks looking out for those dreadful insects. If the cockroach happened to go for a stroll over my cousins who stayed there, they would just pick it up and put it down……while we would bring the roof down with our screams. We would be ridiculed and teased endlessly for being so scared and were the butt of many a joke!

I grew up, but did not outgrow my fear! When my children were born I would pray  “ Oh God please let me not set eyes on any of those dreaded creatures, specially when I am carrying my baby…….lest in my fear I don’t know what I will do “!! I thank God from the bottom of my heart that he said “Amen” to my prayers 🙂

download (1)

gograph.com

Though I have banned the entry of these creatures into my home, at times some persistent ones do manage to sneak in. But I don’t have the luxury of calling out to Mom as now I am a “Mom”. During such encounters now, I have the sole prerogative and privilege of doing the honours……….I strongly nominate myself for the “Bravery Award “……..Anybody listening?????

24 comments on “You give me creeps!!

  1. Karthik
    May 29, 2016

    Killing the poor little creatures :-(… Come on, get a bit more braver…catch hold of them and throw them into your neighbors balcony…. and watch 😉

    Like

  2. Mridhula
    June 10, 2016

    totally understand your reactions n appreciate your spirits in dealing with them now…. I used to go dramatically crazy….. but guess age adds tolerance levels too!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • radhikasreflection
      June 10, 2016

      In my case age unfortunately has not improved my tolerance towards them 😞

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mridhula
        June 10, 2016

        I used to be told time n again that it’s a life n they too gotta survive n lots of other things…… but I take all out efforts to keep them away n if it still creeps in.. no drama now ….either of us move out (depending on the place)! No worries … you’re not alone!

        Like

      • radhikasreflection
        June 10, 2016

        It’s comforting to know I am not the only one 😉

        Like

  3. Amitav Chowdhury
    July 12, 2016

    Ha ha ha… come on it’s just a poor little cockroach. You scared it! 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  4. rambledeep
    July 13, 2016

    Ha ha…brought back sweet creepy memories of our fear 😦
    very beautifully and well written, Radhika…Keep it up…Im missing the emoticons here to give you a big round of applause..clap,clap,clap.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. myheartbeats4ublog
    July 25, 2016

    hahaha..nicely written! poor creepy little things!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Idle Muser
    September 17, 2016

    Hahaha.. 😀
    I can completely understand your feelings. I myself can’t stand these creatures, especially Spiders. *yikess*
    I nominate you for ‘Blogger Bravery Award’, if there is any. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  7. dilkiaawazsunoblog
    February 7, 2017

    I strongly nominate myself for the “Bravery Award “……..Anybody listening????? hhahahahahahah…

    fabulous.. i was laughing all throughout the blog..

    I had never felt so Yukky kinds coz at our place it rarely used to be seen.. here its the other way around.. I feel so….. don’t know what to say.. and now on top of it bed bugs.. even after buying new mattress we are bestowed with the bedbugs and the worst part those bugs don’t bite my husband he sleeps to glory and I have sleepless nights.. 😦 Started having phobia with those creatures now.. seems like I find them everywhere.. all over me..

    Liked by 1 person

    • radhikasreflection
      February 7, 2017

      I can fully empathize with you dear. But still I feel you are very brave. I wouldn’t have stayed there. 😨
      For bed bug theory, same logic holds good with mosquitoes. They never bite hubby dear but only me. He teases me saying that I am his mosquito repellent.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 29, 2016 by in humour and tagged , , .
