radhikasreflection

Everyday musings ….Life as I see it…….my space, my reflections and thoughts !!

The Last Page

Press the rewind button of your life, to a few years back, till you are in your high school. Then press the stop button. Pick up any note book and turn to the last page. What do you see there?

Well, I asked you to do this exercise, as today I just happened to open my daughter’s book. This is what I found on the last page !

lpΒ  Β lp2

 

Looking at this transported me back to my school days. Reflecting back, I fondly recollected my rendezvous with the last page of various note books. πŸ˜‰

 

  • Secret messages in code words exchanged between me and my friends.
  • Countless games of tic tac toe, name place animal thing.
  • Chatting with friends in the form of Q & A, when the teacher turned to write on the blackboard πŸ˜‰
  • Throwing blobs of ink from the fountain pen (no gel pen those days) in the centre of the page , folding the page and making unique symmetrical designs.
  • Writing down the note regarding HW or test.
  • Scribbling my name in different fonts.
  • Trying to write with my left hand
  • Attempting to perfect my future signature πŸ˜‰
  • and many more ……..

I am sure the last page of our books unfold many emotions, mischiefs, stories and memories.

Children will always be children……..only the last page stories differ!

Lo behold! The saga of the last page

unravels sweet tales filled with

excitement of the young minds,

of the umpteen scribbles,

fun games played,

secret missions accomplished,

tΓͺte–à–tΓͺte with friends,

teacher’s caricatures.

A world of fantasy

thatΒ gets obscured with the passage of time

but

when chanced upon many birthdays later

brings a smile to your face

and opens nostalgic floodgates!

 

 

 

 

 

46 comments on “The Last Page

  1. myheartbeats4ublog
    September 3, 2016

    hahaha..so true! the child within never gets old.. that is the charm of life… nice post, radhika

    Liked by 3 people

  2. adsunsri
    September 3, 2016

    All of these…reflections of the glorious past and yes I vaguely remember a secret code …ABC, DEF, GHI …and so in in different quadrants and each alphabet getting a code as a “L”, either turned left or right and other geometric codes! Brilliant to put these childhood idiosyncrasies in a poem form…taking a bow Radhika!

    Liked by 2 people

    • radhikasreflection
      September 3, 2016

      Haha…..We too used to play this game, along with so many more……..simple things were enough to fill us with happiness ! Thanks Sunita for reminding me of one more of the long list of games. May be I can teach it to my daughter too!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Asha Seth
    September 3, 2016

    Super reflection! Your post gives so.much think and miss. I’d give anything to have those days back. I can’t recollect much about bookish scribblings. But Tolstoy’s ‘where men live by’ is a vivid memory from my class 6 days. Even to do this day, I read that story and relive those school days. RadhikaπŸ’•

    Liked by 1 person

    • radhikasreflection
      September 3, 2016

      It was sheer nostalgia for me, as I wrote this post. I am so glad Asha, that I could take you back to those cherished memories of school days! Thanks dear πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. healthyindiankitchen
    September 3, 2016

    This reminds me of my childhood RadhikaπŸ˜ƒ. This is so true….the last page of the notebook depicted our hidden emotionsπŸ’—

    Liked by 1 person

  5. pins & ashes
    September 3, 2016

    Went back, and looked at a few notebooks of mine just now. lot of doodling in mine.. and tic tac toes what is that name where you draw dots and makes boxes, the more boxes you win.. πŸ˜€ so many many many games.

    Liked by 2 people

    • radhikasreflection
      September 3, 2016

      Oh yes Ash, we too played that game. Once we completed a box we would seal it with our initial. In fact, at times the last few pages would be filled with stuff like these. I truly miss those fulfilled days!

      Liked by 1 person

      • pins & ashes
        September 3, 2016

        haha! these are days when notebooks have been replaced by notes, where is paper to begin to think of drawing a line or playing a game. Apps may be.

        Liked by 1 person

      • radhikasreflection
        September 3, 2016

        Yes sadly technology eroding into all aspects of life and stealing the tiny pleasures of lifeπŸ™

        Liked by 1 person

      • pins & ashes
        September 3, 2016

        but they have games too, the old ones we used to play back in school. The medium has changed. Hope every phone comes with a stylus.

        Liked by 1 person

      • radhikasreflection
        September 3, 2016

        Yes, they do have organised games, but they miss out on the simple fun games we used to play.

        Like

    • Akhila
      September 3, 2016

      true.. the main game was of course was that dot and box thing..

      Liked by 2 people

  6. Varsh
    September 3, 2016

    Ah, you made me nostalgic too! My books, almost all of them, had some or the other poem scribbled on the last page. Maths equations. Doodles. Games. Lots of things. ☺
    We even calculated love percentages with our crushes. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Akhila
    September 3, 2016

    excellent post radhika, driving the memories..

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Maniparna Sengupta Majumder
    September 3, 2016

    The last page! I just smiled reminding all those silly, secret, emotions…the scribblings on the last few pages… πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Beautiful post… πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  9. parijat shukla
    September 4, 2016

    Becoming a child again 😊😊

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Subhash
    September 5, 2016

    So nice, these are so true for almost all of us, wonderful last page, Wonder how free time was used to perfect the signature. Your daughter is a wonder at sketching πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • radhikasreflection
      September 5, 2016

      All of us have some beautiful memories of the last page. Thank you, for your feedback on my daughter’s sketching. Will convey it to her.😊

      Liked by 1 person

  11. writeshefali
    September 7, 2016

    Hahah… Nostalgia floodgates indeed!… I think my last page was filled with tic tac toe πŸ˜‰…love this “Last Page” postπŸ˜ŠπŸ‘πŸ‘Œ

    Liked by 1 person

  12. scintillatingmemoirs
    September 9, 2016

    Ha-Ha.. this brought back my old memories of high school.. Last pages were indeed secret bearers.. loved this post! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Sumith Babu
    September 10, 2016

    Very nostalgic. What reminds me is nuts and Crosses game and the signatures. And the funniest game was FLAMES. You roll the dice and see the number comes on that. Find a girl and see which number comes on thatπŸ˜‚F-friend, L-love, A-angry, M-marry, E-enemy, s- sister. Haha funny days!! Thanks for taking me to those nice memories RadhikaπŸ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

    • radhikasreflection
      September 10, 2016

      Looking back at the funny games we played as kids brings smiles to our faces today. Glad that I could jog your childhood memories πŸ™‚πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Snigdha
    September 23, 2016

    This is sooooooo interesting! I’ll try doing this πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • radhikasreflection
      September 23, 2016

      You mean you didn’t do it at school?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Snigdha
        September 23, 2016

        No no I meant that I’ll also check out my notebooks to find such stuff ma’am! Yes I obviously did this hehe πŸ˜› πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      • radhikasreflection
        September 23, 2016

        Check out and have a wonderful time in the rewind mode. Enjoy πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ‘

        Liked by 1 person

  15. Meenakshi Sethi
    October 8, 2016

    This post is nostalgic…I am trying to go back to my notebook’s last page…I guess memory loss! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 3, 2016 by in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , .
