radhikasreflection

Everyday musings ….Life as I see it…….my space, my reflections and thoughts !!

Weekly Photo Challenge – Nostalgia

Today is present, give it to your best. For tomorrow it becomes past. A memory! Create memories that bring a smile to your face and joy to your heart. A collection of beautiful memories years later, becomes Nostalgia!!

dsc00398

I remember having attended typing classes during my summer holidays. Oh, what fun it was to type sheets of paper and feel so elated at my typing speed !!

dsc00400

Tic toc the horse trots…….this cute little horse fulfilled every little child’s dream of riding !!

dsc00401

The humble old sewing machine created magic with fabric !!

dsc00403

Listening to the radio was a favourite pastime in days of yore before the technology took control of our lives!Β 

dscf2009

The paper remains the same………the headlines keep changing!!

77 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge – Nostalgia

  1. sparklingpoems
    October 1, 2016

    Perfect pic for perfect theme….!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. supercalifragilisticexpialidocious
    October 1, 2016

    Perfect pictures for this week’s theme R πŸ™‚
    We still have that radio at home. 😊

    Liked by 2 people

    • radhikasreflection
      October 1, 2016

      We too had it until a few years back. Thanks R !

      Liked by 1 person

      • supercalifragilisticexpialidocious
        October 1, 2016

        There’s a place in Goa called loutolim. A Portuguese lawyer’s house is now turned into a museum. Typewriters,radio, old wine bottles, hat stand and everything else is still there. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 2 people

      • radhikasreflection
        October 1, 2016

        Yes R. These pictures are from the same place.😊

        Liked by 3 people

      • supercalifragilisticexpialidocious
        October 1, 2016

        Oh πŸ™‚ sorry I did not recognise the place πŸ™‚

        Like

      • radhikasreflection
        October 1, 2016

        No worries…..

        Liked by 1 person

      • Varsh
        October 1, 2016

        Kya baat hai…😊😊😊

        Like

  3. Steve
    October 1, 2016

    Even me…..had attended typing classes which was just next door my house….. And that was the only reason….. But then, it lasted only for a week, and I remember typing asdfg left hand and lkjhg right hand and one sheet per day….. And I was fed up πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. kiranmag
    October 1, 2016

    These things all of them except the typewriter are my grandmother’s house too😊

    The valve based radio is not working now

    The sewing machine is still there..but no one uses it

    The wooden horse and wooden walkie is there too..but all of us have become big😊

    Mother has preserved teak wood jhula in which I used to sleep as a baby. Still in good condition as it is.

    She says it will be for my offspring 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • radhikasreflection
      October 1, 2016

      That’s really nice to know Kiran. All these pictures have so many beautiful memories unique to all of us attached to them. 😍😊

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Sonali@foodtravelandmakeup
    October 1, 2016

    This pic made me nostalgic …my father had one and i loved the leather case of that…. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • radhikasreflection
      October 1, 2016

      I am glad that this theme today is taking many of us back on the trip down the memory lane. Thanks Sonali 😊😊

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Southern by Design
    October 1, 2016

    Love these! Well done πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Varsh
    October 1, 2016

    Wow…this would be the perfect post for nostalgia! Loved it. 😊😊

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Suyog Chhatre
    October 1, 2016

    Antique…Radhika 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  9. adsunsri
    October 1, 2016

    And sometimes nostalgia does hurt when we miss them so terribly!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Maniparna Sengupta Majumder
    October 1, 2016

    Oh..you really made me nostalgic..especially with the radio and the sewing machine (my grandma had one and her embroideries were excellent)!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Advo. R.R.'SAGAR'
    October 2, 2016

    ΰ€¬ΰ€Ήΰ₯ΰ€€ ΰ€–ΰ₯‚ΰ€¬

    Like

  12. Mridhula
    October 2, 2016

    that’s a nostalgic post….reminding me of the typing classes, I agree that speed was the part that kept it going steady… sewing machine, mom had one and I too have used it a lot…the radio, the sewing machine – its all gone out of the pic now at home!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. thatmishmash
    October 2, 2016

    Lovely pictures. I couldsee my grandpa and grandma sewing on the machine and the horse broguth back lovely memories of nursery school , the time when jungle gyms and fancy ac classrooms were unheard of.

    Liked by 1 person

    • radhikasreflection
      October 2, 2016

      My mom also used to stitch all our dresses herself and they were so pretty!! We never had been to a tailor in our childhood😊😊

      Liked by 1 person

      • thatmishmash
        October 2, 2016

        Wow ! Lucky you πŸ™‚ My dad stitches curtains even now for the house but the old sewing machine has been replaced with a newer electric one .

        Liked by 1 person

      • radhikasreflection
        October 2, 2016

        Wow! That’s so nice to hear. Unfortunately I never learnt to stitch. So my daughter has to go to the tailor or opt for ready-made stuff.

        Liked by 1 person

      • thatmishmash
        October 2, 2016

        I wish I had learnt too. I used to love cross stitching patterns for bed spreads and cushion covers , but that was more than a decade ago . Ready – made stuff is the fad now , but sadly the personal touch is lost .

        Liked by 1 person

  14. Karthik
    October 2, 2016

    Down Memory Lane was this blog… Its always great for each generation to reminisce about things and tools that one has grown up with πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • radhikasreflection
      October 2, 2016

      I wonder what our kids will find nostalgic to talk about when they grow up? πŸ€”

      Like

  15. vishalbheeroo
    October 2, 2016

    Aha so much memories. It’s priceless, the good old typewriter, newspaper, sewing machines and toys. Nostalgic is sweet:)

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Akhila
    October 2, 2016

    ha… what else could fit here.. the perfect pictures Radhi

    Liked by 1 person

  17. gururaghavendrasevashrama
    October 2, 2016

    Does anyone remember the taste of imli from the tree in the school backyard?

    Liked by 1 person

    • radhikasreflection
      October 2, 2016

      How can one forget that sweet n tangy taste? Oh what fun it was to keep licking it for hours togetherπŸ€—πŸ€—

      Like

  18. nathaswami
    October 2, 2016

    Do you really keep all these stuff in your house? But it is really a good collection. Only the gramophone is missing from your collection !

    Liked by 1 person

    • radhikasreflection
      October 3, 2016

      Haha, yes the good old gramophone. Of course I had many of these at home earlier, but not anymore. The pictures have been taken at a museum at Goa. Thanks for stopping by.😊

      Like

  19. 2ndhalfolife
    October 2, 2016

    I think people become nostalgic too… The elderly in America become throw away instead of the wise in the community. It’s sad to me. I can see at my age of 60 how people already disregard me and what I may have to offer. People at work (mostly the younger generation) thing I’m not worth paying attention to, and jobs are hard to find when you are older. To me this is crazy and the wrong way to look at things. These objects you show here are the building blocks for the new things we have now….you can’t have one without the other. So it is with people….you ‘need’ the older generations to build the new ones…to teach and pass down their knowledge. xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • radhikasreflection
      October 3, 2016

      So well said and absolutely true. Yes, the older generation is like the building block or the foundation on which the younger generation builds itself. They need to understand if they disregard their elders, their structure will crumble. Some do understand this while others realise it when it is too late.
      I enjoy reading your posts. Have a wonderful week ahead. 😊😊

      Liked by 1 person

  20. myheartbeats4ublog
    October 3, 2016

    beautiful theme..the sweetness of nostalgia..and excellent photographs..

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Meenakshi Sethi
    October 4, 2016

    Your post made me nostalgic πŸ™‚ Yes when ever I come across those beautiful things of those golden days I feel nostalgic too! Wonderful post Radhika! πŸ‘

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Flavoredition
    October 4, 2016

    Lovely pictures.. Interesting blog

    Liked by 1 person

  23. pins & ashes
    October 4, 2016

    I remembered my grandfather’s precious typewriter and radio. They are still preserved in our maternal home in his memory!

    Liked by 1 person

    • radhikasreflection
      October 4, 2016

      These pictures were such an integral part of our lives sometime back…..we all have beautiful memories associated with it 😍

      Liked by 1 person

      • pins & ashes
        October 4, 2016

        My grandfather’s typewriter was one precious little piece of his. He allowed me and my younger cousin to touch it because we were interested in reading when we were in primary school. So he used to make us sit in one of those chairs in his room, give us biscuits, books and also allow us to touch the type writer.

        Liked by 1 person

      • radhikasreflection
        October 4, 2016

        Beautiful memories isn’t it. You must have felt so special 😍😊

        Like

      • pins & ashes
        October 4, 2016

        Oh ya! Always. To be permitted entry into my study it self was a privilege 😍

        Liked by 1 person

      • radhikasreflection
        October 4, 2016

        😊😊

        Liked by 1 person

  24. Divya Deepak Rao
    October 4, 2016

    Loved this post immensely Radhika! Lots of memories!
    We recently bought a typewriter at an antique market & have a special place for it at home…still scouring for the ink though! I remember attending typing classes in the Summer holidays too:)
    Thanks for sharing and I apologize for my irregular visits on wordpress..will be sure to catch up:-)
    Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    • radhikasreflection
      October 4, 2016

      I am glad that I was able to take all my blogger friends on a nostalgic journey. 😍
      I hope you manage to find the ink for your typewriter soon. I can still hear the the sounds of the keys of the typewriter after all these years. Some memories remain evergreen. 😊😊

      Liked by 1 person

  25. thewritewomanblog
    October 9, 2016

    Loved this one Radhika….I was back to those golden years of the noisy typewriter, typing classes and the fact that using a typewriter was exercise enough for your arms. Will show my son the simple joys of our childhood. Thank you for that.

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Sumith Babu
    October 9, 2016

    Nostalgic post Radhika!!

    Liked by 1 person

  27. Sanjay M Bhaskar
    October 13, 2016

    Wow… This is great.. That typing machine.. it is really not in practice now…. 😍😍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 1, 2016 by in Wordpress Photo Challenge and tagged , , , .
