radhikasreflection

Everyday musings ….Life as I see it…….my space, my reflections and thoughts !!

Haibun – Baking Affair!

x

ic:foodnetwork.ca

I get into an indulgent mood and decide to do some baking. The apron clings on to me. As I gently caress the creamy butter and sugar, they blend into pristine silkiness. The flour, eggs and vanilla crumble in together. The whisk romantically flirts around and takes them on a spin. In goes some spice to enhance the flavour. Delicate hands bind them tenderly and shape them with care. Lined perfectly, they are all set to get ignited to the heat and passion of the oven. The wait, now gets restless. Finally out comes the perfectly baked cookies. I dust them with sprinkling of sugar and they are all set to be tasted.

Aromas beckon

taste buds savour sugar and spice

perfect symphony!

 

In response to Colleen’s weekly poetry challenge #40 – Sugar and Spice

 

 

 

Haibun is a prosimetric literary form originating in Japan, combining prose and haiku. The range of haibun is broad and frequently includes autobiography, diary, essay, prose poem, short story and travel journal.

 

 

66 comments on “Haibun – Baking Affair!

  1. boundlessblessingsblog
    July 6, 2017

    Beautiful a perfect symphony u have created, Radhika. Awesome hearts just ready to eat with sugar coated and so delicious. Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Deepika Kumaaraguru
    July 6, 2017

    This is one of the best descriptions of cookies I have come across, Radhika 😀 I don’t have a sweet tooth but this one demands an exception 😀 I especially loved the line – The whisk romantically flirts around and takes them on a spin.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Author: Sadaf Siddiqi.
    July 6, 2017

    What a yummy post!! My sweet tooth is craving now.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Delicious cookies., thanks for always sharing something new

    Liked by 1 person

  5. swalia
    July 6, 2017

    Now I am desperately craving some cookies!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Shreya Sharma
    July 6, 2017

    Wow. I loved reading it. Felt like eating cookies. 💁🙈

    Liked by 2 people

  7. DeepikasRamblings
    July 6, 2017

    Hmmm…cookies yummm.. why don’t you just parcel some my way.. If your writing can create a craving for cookies, I wonder what the cookies would do??

    Liked by 2 people

  8. daneelyunus
    July 6, 2017

    Very nice post Radhika

    Liked by 1 person

  9. yassy
    July 6, 2017

    Awesome!yummy

    Liked by 1 person

  10. PriyaPandian
    July 6, 2017

    Wonderful Haibun 👍👍☺️

    Liked by 1 person

  11. arlene
    July 6, 2017

    Yum…yum!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Sumith
    July 6, 2017

    Beautiful read and the cookies looks beautiful and delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Moushmi Radhanpara
    July 6, 2017

    And now I crave those!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Meenakshi Sethi
    July 6, 2017

    Superb! But you left me craving to taste them . I must say you are all rounder, touching every field with your magic dust 🎆

    Like

  15. Colleen Chesebro
    July 6, 2017

    Radhika, I want those sweets, now! Your Haibun put me in your moment and I was using all five senses as you were whipping up your delightful prose. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  16. iampharaohmaktuk
    July 6, 2017

    Mmmmm Those look delicccious!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Anshu Agarwal
    July 7, 2017

    Hii, Congratulations I have nominated you for Mystery Blogger award.For further details please visit https://easycooking247blog.wordpress.com/2017/07/06/mystery-blogger-award/

    Like

  18. Megala
    July 7, 2017

    Fantastic baking affair!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. thewritewomanblog
    July 8, 2017

    A baking affair indeed. You must have thoroughly enjoyed the process for your little write up and the Haibun is a clear indication of it all. Happy baking, Radhika

    Liked by 1 person

    • radhikasreflection
      July 8, 2017

      Baking is what I really enjoy and I guess it just reflected on this post ☺️. Thanks Pranitha!

      Liked by 1 person

      • thewritewomanblog
        July 11, 2017

        It shows, Radhika. I think baking is more like an addiction once you get your hands on it and definitely with some trials, tribulations, some burning up and tarring up, a little understanding of the oven and the right measure and right ingredients makes baking just great. You seem to have mastered them all.
        Happy baking, Radhika 🙂 At least we will have some yummy tea cakes to go with our tea.

        Like

  20. Divya Deepak Rao
    July 8, 2017

    Oh I would love to see what you baked Radhika! Those cookies sound absolutely delicious and I love your description…it’s making me hungry! Maybe I’ll gather my baking tools and apron and get on with it now!:-)

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Nisthur Anadi
    July 9, 2017

    It’s lovely affair indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Sam Bel
    July 10, 2017

    This puts me in the mood for some baked goods :p Have a look at my writing and tell me your thoughts. I’d love your feedback

    Liked by 1 person

  23. kittysverses
    July 10, 2017

    The cookies and the writing, wonderful Mam!

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Pingback: Colleen’s Weekly #Poetry Challenge 41 – #Haiku #Tanka #Haibun: MUSIC & ART – Colleen Chesebro ~ Fairy Whisperer

  25. micketalbot
    July 11, 2017

    You diabetic torturer, but I thank you most kindly for your wonderful haibun 🙂 😉
    I do… I know I do…
    your cookies screaming… eat me…
    occasional cheating

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 6, 2017 by in Haibun and tagged , , , , , .
