radhikasreflection

Everyday musings ….Life as I see it…….my space, my reflections and thoughts !!

Daily Prompt – Disastrous

cake1

ic:google.com

The newly bought recipe book titled “Baking for beginners placed on the bookshelf attracted my attention. The glossy pictures and the easy to bake instructions made baking look like a child’s play. Having a sweet tooth, I decided this would be a good investment to learn the art of baking and its finer nuances. Dreaming of becoming a great master chef in due course, I walked back home, proud of my purchase.

The very next day I shortlisted on a simple Vanilla sponge cake to bake. I earnestly started getting the ingredients ready. At that point the doorbell rang. I answered it and came back a few minutes later and continued with the recipe. Once done, I put the batter in the oven and waited. I was lost in the anticipation of all the adulation I would garner for my maiden attempt at baking. The bell on the timer rang , jolting me out of my reverie. I rushed to take out my masterpiece from the oven. I was shocked to see the disastrous result that came out. It was an absolute flop show. The cake had simply sunk into a hollow and cracked badly. Totally disappointed with my effort I checked the recipe book again, only to realise that when I went to attend the door bell, the page had turned in the breeze. I was totally oblivious to that and had just continued. The mix up of the proportions goofed up my cake completely!

All my family members had a hearty laugh when I narrated them my maiden tryst with baking!!

 

44 comments on “Daily Prompt – Disastrous

  1. GANSU
    July 19, 2017

    It happens 😄😄

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Shiva Malekopmath
    July 19, 2017

    Oh Radhika it did not turn out to be something else than a 🎂 cake. If it had to,I wonder what taste it would have brought. 😂
    Keep trying and see that you put some weight as not to turn the page.
    Shiva

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Saurabh
    July 19, 2017

    I had once tried with my brother, after a longe trouble ….it became a tasteless feozen cake….bt i loved it too…😂😂😂😂
    BTW ur journey is much interesting & entertaining..😋

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Infinite Living
    July 19, 2017

    Haha …some fine and fun memory 🙂 …what I love about your post is how you made the entire experience come alive in your words …as if I could see it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. swalia
    July 19, 2017

    One disastrous attempt can make or break you. People who still keep trying triumph at the end. After all, practice makes a man perfect!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Anabela V
    July 19, 2017

    if this was your first attempt don’t beat yourself up. Try again and you might be successful next time. Even experienced bakers have disasters from time to time x

    Liked by 1 person

    • radhikasreflection
      July 20, 2017

      Thanks for lifting up my spirits Anabela. This happened many years ago. I now bake very regularly 😊

      Like

  7. DeepikasRamblings
    July 19, 2017

    Ha ha.. You’ve come a long way with your “baking affair” 🎂🎂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Divya Deepak Rao
    July 19, 2017

    Oh this & more has happened to me! I’m sure the taste wasn’t compromised! It must have been delicious❤️ To more baking adventures because with sugar, nothing can really be bad🥂
    I just saw that you take baking classes at home! Would love to see those baked treats Radhika😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • radhikasreflection
      July 19, 2017

      The taste was good Divya but otherwise a big flop 😉
      Baking requires a lot of patience. A little goof up of measurements can alter the final texture. You may be well aware of all this, after all you are the baking queen 💖

      Liked by 1 person

      • Divya Deepak Rao
        July 20, 2017

        Oh you’re very kind ❤ but I'm no expert Radhika. And yes, the measurements are so important…I learnt the hard way!

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Megala
    July 19, 2017

    It happens, especially in kitchen! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: When Disaster Strikes by Way of a Fart – TyroCharm

  11. Flashing Thought
    July 20, 2017

    No sweat, give me a big spoon and watch the cake disappear abracadabra.wasn’t it yummy?
    BURP.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Moushmi Radhanpara
    July 20, 2017

    It happened with me the very first time I tried to bake,
    no lift in the cake!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. kittysverses
    July 21, 2017

    Hahaha, the cake might have been a disaster, but your story gathered quite a laugh from all of us. Cheers to this humorous disaster, Mam! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Thewellness.blog
    July 21, 2017

    That’s a nice take of your bake about the cake which you did make… And spreading smiles…many a mile…through this blog on a splintered cake… is certainly a refreshing take…

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Somali K Chakrabarti
    July 23, 2017

    This has happened with me too. No worries Radhika. Better luck next time. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Haha…I know how it feels 😀 Happened with me a number of times… 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  17. thewritewomanblog
    July 26, 2017

    Baking disasters are a norm. Everyone who has tried their hand at baking (except those who are born with the skill embedded in their genes) has these disasters. It may not look perfect but it would just taste super, a little browned but yummy.
    Try try try again, after all baking disasters are stepping stones to becoming a successful baker.:)

    Like

  18. multitudeofmythoughts
    July 29, 2017

    This is funny but I am sure despite it getting ruined,it would have tasted awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Radhika Acharya
    July 29, 2017

    I loved the way you narrated that! And by the way we’re namesakes aren’t we?? 🙂 Do drop by my site too sometime.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 19, 2017 by in daily prompt and tagged , , , , .
