radhikasreflection

Everyday musings ….Life as I see it…….my space, my reflections and thoughts !!

Haibun – Gift of Now!

now

ic:123rf.com

I sit with my cup of morning tea, contemplating life that passes by with each tick of the clock.  At times a feeling of guilt creeps into me for not having spent it wisely. As I brood over it, the calendar flutters in the breeze.  Those flying pages appear to be mocking at me as if holding some secret about my future. Trepidation grips me, over what lies ahead in life.  The sweet chirping of the birds shake me out of my stupor. I realise that clinging on to the past or being anxious about the future has stopped me from enjoying my today. Smiling, I finish my tea, revelling in the sweet twitter of the neighbourhood birds!

Ink stains from the past

blur the picture of  future

present holds the  key!

 

In response to Colleens weekly poetry challenge # 35 – Past & Future

 

This is my first attempt at writing a Haibun!

 

Haibun is a prosimetric literary form originating in Japan, combining prose and haiku. The range of haibun is broad and frequently includes autobiography, diary, essay, prose poem, short story and travel journal.

 

67 comments on “Haibun – Gift of Now!

  1. Andrei
    May 27, 2017

    Nicely-done Radhika ☺. It’s good seeing you trying out various literary forms.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sudalai
    May 27, 2017

    Beautiful , Radhika . ” Present holds the key ” , true and wise words.👍

    Liked by 1 person

  3. yassy
    May 27, 2017

    Beautifully written. Radha Radha Radha sending you warm Huggs

    Liked by 1 person

  4. boundlessblessingsblog
    May 27, 2017

    So very well written and composed lines of our past, future and the presence of the present. Beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Divya Deepak Rao
    May 27, 2017

    Oh my! What a beautiful post Radhika! I felt like I was sitting with you as you sipped your morning tea.😊 Quiet time in the morning with just thoughts to accompany us is the best time:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • radhikasreflection
      May 27, 2017

      Would have loved your company Divya 😊. I genuinely enjoy my morning cuppa in my balcony. Thanks so much. Have a lovely weekend 💜

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Bhagyashri
    May 27, 2017

    Beautifully written.. it really feels happy to attempt new things.. good try.. keep posting ..

    Liked by 1 person

  7. sangbad
    May 27, 2017

    Wow Ma’am….beautiful morning post…love the visualization…sometimes I also think like this…regarding title–give something abstract like Chirping or Morning Tea…just a suggestion…

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Veena
    May 27, 2017

    Well said Radhika

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Kunal Thakore
    May 27, 2017

    Very nice, Radhika!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Thewellness.blog
    May 27, 2017

    Beautiful..simple, nice yet profound.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Megala
    May 27, 2017

    Nice thought!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. DeepikasRamblings
    May 27, 2017

    Wonderful Radhika. I wonder if you have a magical key board which gives such good direction to your flow of thoughts. Keep them coming, for its always a pleasure to read such beautiful creations in different forms. Well done.

    Liked by 2 people

  13. Flashing Thought
    May 27, 2017

    you publish your blogs in a book form,, and i shall stand overnight in the Que to buy one.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Anandhi
    May 27, 2017

    Hi! I have nominated you for Lovely Blogger Award.Hope you Accept It.Please do let me know about it.For more info please do check out this.
    https://jubilantlyf.wordpress.com/2017/05/27/1668
    Thank you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • radhikasreflection
      May 27, 2017

      Thanks so much for the nomination Anandhi! But I have declared my blog award free since the last few months. 😊

      Like

  15. Beautifully said the reality

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Giri Kumar
    May 27, 2017

    Ya…sometimes we are driven by our past directly into future without the conscious of the present.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. That’s very beautifully written, Radhika, I love that you are choosing a different venue of poetry. It carries a certain simplicity which speaks to my mind and heart.

    Liked by 1 person

    • radhikasreflection
      May 28, 2017

      Cornelia, thank you so much. I am thrilled to hear that you could relate to what I wrote. 🙂

      Like

      • corneliaweberphotography
        June 16, 2017

        Sorry for the late response, for some reason WP didn’t allow me to see the responses. Yes I am thrilled too, what a great connection.

        Liked by 1 person

  18. daneelyunus
    May 28, 2017

    Nice onr Radhika

    Like

  19. thewritewomanblog
    May 28, 2017

    Another literary form.. thanks for that one, Radhika!
    Believe me, I do this often, sometimes in the quiet of peaceful mornings, I wonder what the future has in store for me and yes feel a pang of guilt for the past moments spent unwisely. Indeed our mulling over the inevitable future or the past that cannot be reversed takes the beauty out of the present.

    Liked by 1 person

    • radhikasreflection
      May 28, 2017

      I think to a certain extent we all do that, it is but natural and human nature. But to let it intrude upon our today beyond a limit is what we need to be aware of! Living in the now is the best way to live a fulfilling and enjoyable life! Thanks P for sharing your thoughts!

      Liked by 1 person

      • thewritewomanblog
        May 28, 2017

        Thank you for that reminder for I find myself sometime slipping into that abyss of guilt and worry that I forget to relish the present

        Liked by 1 person

  20. daneelyunus
    May 28, 2017

    Nice one Radhika

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Balaka
    May 28, 2017

    Beautiful Haibun…loved reading it

    Liked by 1 person

  22. simpledimple
    May 28, 2017

    I enjoyed reading this Haibun. Well written. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Meenakshi Sethi
    May 28, 2017

    Refreshing poem to read in morning! Good attempt Radhika! And cheers with my morning cup of tea ☕

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Colleen Chesebro
    May 31, 2017

    Excellent. Your words bring us to a mindful conclusion. I love it! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  25. almeidadepaulo
    June 2, 2017

    Beautiful Radhika and my thought is the same of Deepika: “I wonder if you have a magical key board which gives such good direction to your flow of thoughts.”

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Pingback: Colleen’s Weekly #Poetry Challenge # 36 – HAPPY & SAD – Colleen Chesebro ~ Fairy Whisperer

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 27, 2017 by in Haibun and tagged , , , , , .
