The Unending Wait…

Image credit; LuizClas@ Pexels

Dusk paints the horizon with amethyst hues

 chirpy birds flock back to their nests.

In anticipation, I scamper to the fields

to peer across the setting sun,

drenched in impassioned hope

 to see my father’s silhouette walking back,

from the war.

 I dream of him all the time

 lifting me up, in his strong arms,

tickle my funny bone,

regale me with his stories of valor.

But like every other evening, I walk back alone,

distraught.

 I imprison my tears beneath the disguise of fortitude,

so that my defeated eyes never let them out.

People say I am the daughter of a brave soldier!

Sadje’s WDYS #116

57 thoughts on “The Unending Wait…”

  1. People say I am the daughter of a brave soldier – oh so heartbreaking this poem is and how you ended it in perfect rhyme and rhythm. It was unexpected and you brought out the innocence and the endearing resilience so beautifully.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. “I imprison my tears beneath the disguise of fortitude,
    so that my defeated eyes never let them out.
    People say I am the daughter of a brave soldier!”

    These lines are just 💔. So relatable and heart-breaking! Such a profound and beautiful poem Radhika!🌸

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment